h1

The Goodbye Season by Marian Hale

December 28, 2009

Set during World War II, this is the story of Mercy Kaplan.  She is the oldest of five children in a small Texas town.  She has big dreams about getting out of her small town and doing something great.  She’s not sure what she’s going to do, but it will be big.  Her plans and her life change when the Spanish Influenza comes to her little town.  As Mercy tries to make her way in the world, she makes friends, finds love, and runs into a mystery.  I recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction or to people who just like a good coming of age story. Fans of Hattie Big Sky and A Year Down Yonder will enjoy this book.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: