Archive for December, 2009

h1

Teen Pizza Party Pics

December 30, 2009

Thanks to Sarah, from Best Buy, for helping us out with the pizza party.  It was a great time!

Here are some Pics!

h1

TEEN PIZZA PARTY

December 29, 2009

We are having a pizza party in the Teen Tower

Tomorrow Dec 30 from 11-1

The whole thing is sponsored by Best Buy as a celebration for getting a grant from them

THANKS BEST BUY!

Hope to see everyone for some pizza and Wii!

h1

Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines

December 28, 2009

Lyn lives in a world that is just a little different from ours.  Almost everything is the same, but they have real life gladiators who fight to the death in the arena.  Her seventh father is killed in the arena and now she must marry the guy who killed him.  The cover of the book made me think of Hunger Games and so I was really excited to read it.  I imagined Lyn as this reluctant warrior, fighting to keep her family from the poorhouse.  That is not what the book is about.  It is about a girl trying to make tough decisions to take care of her special needs little brother and her crazy mom.  Instead of a grand battle scene, we get a lot training scenes and teen angst.  I think I would have like the book more if I didn’t have Hunger Games in mind when I read it.  The book was interesting and worth the read.

h1

Wish You Were Dead by Todd Strasser

December 28, 2009

This is going to be my last blog entry.  I know that I wished that Lucy, Adam, and Courtney were dead, but that’s just something you say right.  It’s not really supposed to happen.

After an anonymous blogger wishes death on the most popular kids in school, they start disappearing.  Madison feels like it’s her job to find her friends before someone turns up dead.  Filled with the high school hierarchy that rules our lives everyday, this book is a great look into cyber bullying and bullying in general.  It’s interesting and gets to the point, without being sad or preaching about the topic.  Wish You Were Dead is for anyone who enjoys reading thrillers or mysteries.  The ending is a twist and I don’t think anyone will guess who the bad guy really is.

h1

The Goodbye Season by Marian Hale

December 28, 2009

Set during World War II, this is the story of Mercy Kaplan.  She is the oldest of five children in a small Texas town.  She has big dreams about getting out of her small town and doing something great.  She’s not sure what she’s going to do, but it will be big.  Her plans and her life change when the Spanish Influenza comes to her little town.  As Mercy tries to make her way in the world, she makes friends, finds love, and runs into a mystery.  I recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction or to people who just like a good coming of age story. Fans of Hattie Big Sky and A Year Down Yonder will enjoy this book.

h1

Fat Cat by Robin Brande

December 28, 2009

Cat is fat.  Junk food is her drug of choice.  When she is forced to take on a long research project for school, she comes up with a way to get an A in the class, and change her body.  By giving up junk food, most modern conveniences, and living like a cave women, she hopes to prove her theory that modern people are poisoning themselves.  This books sounds like it’s going to be boring, but it is anything but.  Cat is sarcastic and laugh out loud funny.  Once she starts looking better, and the guys in her school start to take notice, the simple experiment turns into something more.  This book is a must read for anyone who is a fan chick flicks.

h1

Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern

December 28, 2009

How big of a nerd do you have to be to play Dungeons and Dragons?  How big of a nerd do you have to be to hang out with cool people who only spend time at your house so they can try to hook up with your older brother’s friends?  How cool do you have to be to be to say it’s not cool for a “friend” to hook up with the guy she knows you like? Is it ok not to hang out with the cool girls if they are really mean but still pretending to be your friends?  These are just some of the crises that Jessie has to deal with.  This book was funny, interesting, and it really takes a look at what it means to be “cool”.  I love the main character who worries that she could slid into the horrible high school depths of the uncool.  This is a fun comedy that really looks at some of the truths about being in high school.